Pages Navigation Menu

East York people, places, events & insights

Nominations sought for 25th Agnes Macphail Award in 2018

Agnes Macphail -SUPPLIED

Agnes Macphail -SUPPLIED

Next year’s conferring of the annual Agnes Macphail Award on the anniversary of its namesake’s birthday will be the 25th such occasion on which an outstanding volunteer in the local community has been recognized.  The award will be presented on March 24, 2018, at a public ceremony at the East York Civic Centre, starting at 7 p.m.

Agnes Campbell Macphail (1890 – 1954) lived in Leaside and also represented the area in the Ontario Legislature during a long career as an advocate for equal rights, equal pay and social justice.

Canada’s first female Member of Parliament, elected in 1921 as a result of the suffragette movement, the late Ms. Macphail also went on to become the first female member seated in the Ontario Legislative Assembly after being elected to represent the East York area in 1943.  In May, as we reported previously, Ms Macphail was honoured by being featured on a new special edition Canadian $10 bank note.

During her long career as a social activist she lobbied tirelessly on social issues such as equal rights for women, seniors and others, promoting international peace, reform of the Canadian justice system and ensuring better access to health, education and housing for marginalized communities.

Established by the former Borough of East York Council in 1994, the annual Macphail award recognizes an East York citizen who has made active commitment to advancement on the issues she championed.

Each nominee for the award must be a resident of the former Borough of East York and an outstanding volunteer leader in community life in areas including, but not limited to: women’s rights, fairness to seniors, criminal justice and penal reform, international peace and disarmament and to adequate housing, health care and education. Nomination forms are available in public buildings in East York.  The deadline for nominations is midnight, Thursday, January 25, 2018.

Contributions to the award bursary fund can be made through The East York Foundation, c/o G. Piercey, 55 Merritt Road, East York M4B 3K6.  Donations go directly to a registered charity of the recipient’s choice.  Charitable receipts are issued.

Nomination forms are available in public buildings in East York, at all branches of the Toronto Public Library in East York or at .

For further information or a copy of the 2018 nomination package, contact committee chair Lorna Krawchuk at 416-425-4431.

Hey Listen Up!