Pages Navigation Menu

East York people, places, events & insights

Nominations open for 24th Agnes Macphail Award

Agnes Macphail -SUPPLIED

Agnes Macphail -SUPPLIED

Nominations are now open for someone to receive the 24th annual Agnes Macphail Award this coming March, the East York Agnes Macphail Recognition Committee has announced.

Agnes Campbell Macphail (1890 – 1954) was the first woman elected to the House of Commons (1921) and the first seated in the Ontario Legislature (1943).

During her years in office, Ms. Macphail focussed on issues of equality rights and social justice.

Each nominee must be a resident of the former Borough of East York and an outstanding volunteer leader in community life in areas including, but not limited to: women’s rights, fairness to seniors, criminal justice and penal reform, international peace and disarmament and to adequate housing, health care and education.

Nomination forms are available in public buildings in East York. The deadline for nominations is midnight, Thursday, January 26, 2017.

Contributions to the award can be made through The East York Foundation, c/o G. Piercey, 55 Merritt Road, East York M4B 3K6.  Donations go directly to a registered charity of the recipient’s choice. Charitable receipts are issued.

The Award will be presented on the anniversary of Agnes Macphail’s birth, March 24, 2017, at a public ceremony at the East York Civic Centre, starting at 7:00 p.m.

Nomination forms are available at the EYCC and other public buildings in East York, at branches of the Toronto Public Library in East York or can be downloaded from

For further information or a copy of the 2017 Nomination Package, contact Committee Chair, Lorna Krawchuk at 416-425-4431.

Hey Listen Up!